What the New Aged Care Star Ratings Mean

Personal Care Assistant sits down with aged care resident.

To support the residents, family and staff at our Embracia homes, we want to share more information on the changes affecting residential aged care. The Aged Care Reforms have introduced the Aged Care Star Ratings system to describe the quality of aged care homes. The new measure is designed to increase transparency and trust between providers and consumers. 

Aged Care Star Ratings System

Learn everything you need to know about the new Aged Care Star Ratings system and look at our resource section to discover additional information.

In December 2022, the Australian government launched the new Star Ratings system for aged care homes. The system was in response to the recent Royal Commission into Aged Care Quality and Safety. The Commission wanted there to be an easy way for consumers to compare the service quality of aged care providers. People now have a centralised rating system to compare homes and find the right provider.

The Star Ratings system was introduced in tandem with the new Code of Conduct for Aged care providers. The code sets out the key responsibilities and expected behaviours of aged care providers and their staff. The code strengthens protection for older Australians and applies to all providers of residential, home and flexible care services

“The National Aged Care Reforms seek to help consumers have a clear understanding of their services, rights and the quality of care that should be delivered”

Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission

Benefits of the new Aged Care Star Rating System and Code of Conduct

The ratings are there to help elderly people and their families make informed decisions about the care that is right for them.

Star Ratings will help people understand the key areas of care being delivered to their loved ones and increase trust in the quality of aged care services. The system also gives aged care homes an opportunity to measure their performance on a national level and drive improvement.

How the star rating is calculated

The overall star rating is based on four key areas that are individually assessed:

Resident’s Experience

Residents are interviewed about their overall experience of their aged care home. This category makes up 33% of the overall Star Rating


Regulatory decisions by the Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission, including compliance with the Aged Care Quality Standards. This category makes up 30% of the overall Star Rating

Quality Measures

Information about the five areas of care – falls and major injury, unplanned weight loss, pressure injuries, medication management and physical restraint. This category makes up 15% of the overall Star Rating


The amount of care received from a Registered Nurse, Enrolled Nurse or Personal Care Worker, compared to the average care targets set by the Australian Government. This category makes up 22% of the overall Star Rating.

Embracia support these changes wholeheartedly and believe the Star Ratings will provide more understanding for families on the type and quality of care their loved ones receive. Quality of care and the happiness of residents is paramount to us, and we continue our commitment to this.

Resources for residents, family and staff

Find more information on the Code of Conduct like facts sheets and learning models on the Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission website. The My Aged Care website is a comprehensive resource for consumers and health professionals, and you can find out more about the Star Rating System here.